Traveler FAQ – Changes to your compact license

Update as of January 19, 2018:

Colorado and New Mexico have joined the eNLC. Vermont, New Jersey, Michigan, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts have not moved forward in the eNLC compact effective today.

If you have a license in a state that has joined the eNLC, contact the Board of Nursing in your state for more information on how the compact affects you.


Changes to compact licenses are coming! Here is a quick answer sheet for what you need to know about whether these changes affect you and what to do if they do.

What is the eNLC?

eNLC stands for Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact. Effective January 19th, 2018, many states who were previously a part of the NLC (Nurse Licensure Compact) will be joining the eNLC instead.
Most compact states have already stated that they will join the eNLC. Any states not joining will stay a part of the NLC. Five new states who have never been a part of the NLC before have agreed to join the eNLC including Florida, Georgia, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Who does the eNLC effect?

It affects any nurse with a compact license or living in a state joining the compact.

What specifically is changing?

The eNLC requires that all member states implement criminal background checks for all applicants upon initial licensure or licensure by endorsement. To view applicant requirements for the eNLC click here. This revision, along with other significant updates, will remove barriers that kept other states from joining. The eNLC will make it possible to get closer to the goal of all states joining the eNLC. For information on all other changes click here.
Nurses that currently have an active compact license from one of these states will be grandfathered into the program and will not have to meet any additional licensure requirements and will be able to practice in the new states that joined the eNLC (Wyoming, Oklahoma, West Virginia, Georgia & Florida) on 1/19/18. Nurses issued a multi-state license after July 20, 2017, will be required to meet the eNLC multi-state license requirements.

What new states are joining?

Florida, Georgia, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Which states are a part of eNLC?

Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming.

More changes coming??

As of now, Colorado, New Mexico, and Rhode Island are members of the original NLC that have not yet joined the eNLC. These states plan to introduce the legislation in 2018 or sooner. Until then, each of the three states will only have the legal authority to recognize the multi-state privilege of RNs and LPNs from the other two states. There is pending legislation for Michigan, Massachusetts, and New Jersey too, which are three states that are not currently compact but may be added at some point in 2018.

What to do if you are working in a state that is NO LONGER going to be compact?

Contact your recruiter as soon as possible to make sure you get licensed – you will not be able to work past the effective date if your state leaves the compact. trustaff will reimburse you for the cost of getting licensed in a new state! You will not be permitted to report to work if you do not have a single-state license as of 1/19/18.

What is a traveling nurse?
A traveling nurse is a healthcare professional that is hired to work at a specific location for a limited amount of time. During their temporary contract—more commonly called an “assignment”—the
Continue reading...
Hawaii Travel Nursing
Travel nursing offers the opportunity to explore every corner of the US in depth, and Hawaii is no exception. Travel nursing in Hawaii allows you to enjoy all the spoils
Continue reading...
5 great reasons to become a travel nurse
Travel nursing is a unique occupation that goes beyond a paycheck and enters the realm of lifestyle. Travel nursing provides the opportunity to experience the diverse cultures across America and
Continue reading...
Health tips for traveling nurses: start your day out right!
Travel nurses often fall into the cycle of patients first, me second. This can be damaging for many reasons, including the obvious, like inhibiting your ability to perform the best
Continue reading...